top of page

What is a DSW(Doctor of Social Work)?

What is a DSW? What school should I go to for a DSW? Is a DSW better then a Ph.D? Well most of your questions will be answered in this interview with Syrenia Johnson. Syrenia Johnson better known as serene_ambition and thepsychosocialboutique is a licensed social worker, life coach, blogger and DSW candidate. I met her through social media, but you would think that we have been friends forever. Syrenia is such a great person, and she is a strong advocate for addressing mental health in the black community. I am so happy that we came into each other lives. I hope you enjoy this interview.

Who is Syrenia Johnson?

I am currently a Doctor of Social Work student at Walden University with a concentration in clinical expertise. I received my Master of Social Work degree from the University of Texas at Arlington with a concentration in mental health. My Bachelor of Social Work degree and Psychology degree are from the University of Mississippi. I am a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., the National Association of Social Workers, the International Association of Certified Coaches, and the National Association of Black Social Workers.

What is your role/occupation?

I am a medical social worker full-time and a part-time entrepreneur.

Are your degrees in Social Work?

I have both a BSW and MSW. My associates is in pre-nursing, and I also have a B.A. in psychology.

What is the difference between a PhD and DSW?

A PhD is a research degree. A DSW is a practice degree.

Why are you obtaining a DSW?

I’ve always wanted to be a doctor, but I didn’t go the medical route. I will be the first doctor in my immediate family. My advisor in undergrad was the first Black man that I knew with a DSW. He owns his own practice, is a published author, and was a very popular professor on campus. It blew my mind away because that was unheard of at my PWI.

What university are you obtaining your DSW from?

I am a student at Walden University.

Did you research your school and program before beginning the DSW program?

Yes, there are not that many DSW programs in the states, so I narrowed it down to 3 options. Walden, Capella, and UT-Knoxville. Walden won me over with their concentrations and complete online program.

What are some pro’s and con’s to obtaining a DSW?

Pros include flexibility, concentration options, and knowledge base. Cons include the possibility of someone questioning your degree because it is not as well-known as a PhD.

Do you have a LMSW or LCSW?

I have a LMSW and am preparing to sit for the LCSW exam in June.

What are your goals after you complete your DSW program?

My top goal is to secure an adjunct professor job at a local university. Then, I would like to become a published author. A long-term goal is to become a service chief or director within the Department of Veteran Affairs or private hospital system.

What is one piece of advice you would give a young lady that wants to pursue a doctorate degree?

Please do not let the fear of the unknown deter you from pursuing your degree. There are several options for those of us in public service to receive assistance/financial aid.

Wow!! Thank You Syrenia for this awesome interview. I really hope this interview will encourage some social workers who want to pursue their DSW. I actually been doing my own research on DSW programs because I am looking into obtaining my DSW in the near future. This interview was extremely helpful to me, and I hope to others. Syrenia has many social media outlets if you would like to reach out to her.

IG: serene_ambition

thepsychosocialboutique

Facebook:The Psychosocial Boutique, PLLC

Serene Ambition

Website: www.yoursereneambition.com

YouTube: Serene Ambition

bottom of page