top of page

I want to be a LPC (Licensed Practice Counselor)


I have had a few people who have reach out to me about LPC requirements. I am LMSW and will be obtaining my LCSW in the Fall. A LPC and LCSW is very similar, but I have learned if I don't have the credentials or information on a certain topic then I should reach out to someone who does. I had the pleasure to interview someone who is a LPCMH, and she launched her new product today the Master It Planner. I had a great interview with Crysta Harris, LPCMH and she provided some good information on how to become a LPC.

Crysta Harris is a Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health (LPCMH) and co-founder of Master it. Crysta knew at an early age her passion in life was to inspire, motivate and teach others. After earning a Master of Science in Counseling from Loyola University Maryland, Crysta joined the University of Delaware (UD) as an Academic Coordinator, where she provided resources to help low-income, first generation students matriculate through college. After four years at UD, Crysta worked as an outpatient Mental Health Therapist, providing treatment to children, adolescents and families. Since obtaining her license she has transitioned to private practice, where she continues to use her extensive training in Parent-Child Interaction Therapy (PCIT), Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior Therapy (TFCBT) and counseling background to help her clients navigate a range of emotional, relationship, and life challenges. In addition to being a well-versed psychotherapist, Crysta teaches undergraduate psychology courses at Wilmington University.

A quote that Crysta lives by is, “Don’t believe in mediocracy, that's easy and anybody can do that.” Operating in her purpose to motivate, teach and inspire others, Crysta is dedicated to helping mental health professionals push limits, drive impact, and obtain their desired level of success.

1. What is your role/occupation?

I am a psychotherapist employed at a psychiatric private practice where I am afforded the opportunity to work with individuals who present with an array of mental health disorders such as anxiety, depression, schizophrenia, post-traumatic stress disorder and many other challenges. As a psychotherapist, I provide individual, family and couples counseling.

Outside of my work at the private practice, I am an adjunct professor at Wilmington University where I teach Intro to Psychology courses.

2. Is your degree in counseling or social work?

I graduated from Loyola University Maryland with a Master of Science degree in Counseling Psychology.

3. Do you have a LCSW or LPC license?

I reside in the state of Delaware and recently earned my license as a Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health (LPCMH).

4. Why did you choose to obtain a LPC?

I have to be very honest, when the counseling field “chose me” I did not know the difference between an LPCMH and an LCSW license. I just knew I wanted to be a therapist. I knew I wanted to help teen girls. I knew I wanted to help individuals and families who have experienced trauma and altering life issues similar to my own. I received very little support and guidance in choosing a career path and felt like I stumbled upon the LPCMH track. However, after much reflection, I realize I did not stumble upon this track, but yet I was destined to become a LPCMH.

5. What can you do in the field as a LPC?

Once you are licensed, the door of opportunities open wider for you. You can work as a therapist in a private practice, agency or as a contractor. You have the opportunity to work in schools, hospitals, correctional facilities and so much more. You can become an entrepreneur and build your own private practice or embark upon other entrepreneurial opportunities, such as creating webinars and trainings for other behavioral health professionals, speaking engagements or publishing your own book.

The behavioral health field has many opportunities, but it will be up to you to identify your purpose, maximize your potential and leverage your skills to build a rewarding career.

6. What are the requirements to become a LPC?

Obtaining licensure varies from state to state but a few steps are standardized. First, you must obtain your master’s degree in a qualifying major (i.e., mental health counseling) from an accredited institution majoring. Future counselors must take one of the state licensure board exams, National Board of Certified Counselor (NBCC) exam, the National Counselor Examinations for Licensure and Certification (NCE) and/or the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE). While hour requirements vary by state, generally individuals are required to complete approximately 3000 hours of post-graduate supervised experience over the course of 2 years. In Delaware I was required to complete 3200 hours of post-graduate supervised experience.

7. What was the most difficult task in obtaining a LPC?

The most challenging tasks in obtaining my license was securing a position that would afford me the opportunity to counsel others, secure my hours of clinical experience, and obtain supervision. Lots of other aspiring therapists have difficulty finding supervisors and often have to pay a fee to receive supervision.

I am grateful and blessed because a I was able to complete my required hours and obtain supervision at my first employer, Advanced Clinical Training Program (ACTP). ACTP is a program designed to help post-master students secure licensure hours alongside committed and knowledgeable supervisors, and receive cutting edge training in Parent Child Interaction Therapy (PCIT), Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TFCBT), suicide assessment and many other opportunities to help shape you into a well-informed clinician.

8. What is one piece of advice you would give a person that wants to become a LPC?

I have many gems to drop about this field so I have to give at least three pieces of advice.

First, identify your passions and purpose. By taking this initial step it will help you identify what career path and steps you will need to take (i.e., identify academic major, licensure requirements, and potential career settings).

Second, locate a mentor in the field that is able to assist you on this journey.

Lastly, dream big in this field and do not let people deter you from your goals. Many people “think” that you cannot earn a good coin in this field, or they pigeon hole you to only being a therapist and seeing clients on the couch, but with a license, the opportunities are endless. If you don’t find an opportunity, then create your own lane.

A lane that my business partner and I have created is a comprehensive planner/guide that will keep you on track as you navigate narrowing down your area of interest within the behavioral science field and apply to graduate school.

If you would like more assistance, please contact me at info:

Business Email: info@masteritgurus.com

IG name: @masteritgurus

Website: www.masteritgurus.com

Wow this interview was awesome and Crysta really dropped some Gems!!! If this blog was of interest to you, and you would like to know more about the LPC field please contact Crysta. She is a true sweetheart and if she can't help you she will direct you to the right person. Also, if you are a student or mental health professional check out her new planner/guide the Master it.

I hope you all enjoyed the blog, and I will be having more interviews coming. Happy Thanksgiving!!

bottom of page